1960 Farmall Cub- Speed Control Lever Not Working

tom gould

New User
My 1960 Farmall Cub fires up ok after replacing most of the replaceable parts over the past 12 months. But now there is a new problem: When the engine fires up the speed control lever does not change the engine speed and the engine runs full speed until I shut it all down. The speed control lever is very difficult to move with the engine running and even when I move it, the engine races full speed and I cannot turn it down. With the engine off, the speed control lever is easy to move. I am not a mechanic and only know what I've learned working on this Cub, but my guess is that the governor is the problem Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you, Tom

It does sound like a governor problem. The best way to verify that it is not a linkage problem between your throttle lever and the governor is to disconnect the linkage at the governor and start the tractor. Then try to throttle the tractor up and down by moving the arm on the governor. You should be able to see the governor moving the carburetor throttle rod. If you are moving the governor control arm at the governor itself with no change in engine speed or movement of the carburetor throttle rod, then you will likely need to remove that governor and start replacing internal parts.
Best of luck.

First check for problems outside the governor. Check the adjustment of the linkage between the governor and the carburetor. Check the same area for free movement, no linkage rubbing on anything, no binding of the pivot points etc.

The linkage is adjusted with the engine not running. Remove the pin at the front end of the rod. Push the control lever forward. Pull the rod back so the carburetor throttle is completely open. The pin should be able to slide back into place without moving the other parts. If it doesn't, adjust the length of the rod to get the pin to fit.