Yesterday's Tractor Co.
Shop Now View Cart
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

are we prepared for a flat tire on trailer? Just sayin'....

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
DMartin9N-2N
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:04 am    Post subject: are we prepared for a flat tire on trailer? Just sayin'.... Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I have been using my 18 ft (I think) 2-axle flat trailer for several years. Factors people may overlook have come to mind:
[A] If you have a small 12 volt air compressor, will it reach from your 12 volt receptacle in the truck all the way to the flat tire? Either the wire or the hose needs to be plenty long!
[B] Do you have a spare tire that FOR SURE fits the trailer, and can you GET TO the tire? If planning to use the spare from underneath the truck, practice removing it from the truck. May be not so easy!! Also be sure your spare fits trailer.
[C] Can you jack up the trailer? Practice with WHATEVER JACK YOU PLAN TO USE, and do this on bad ground like you may be parked on at an event. If planning to use the truck's jack, can you get it out of the truck?? (My Silverado's jack is a nuisance to get out from under the back seat). Will the jack work if the trailer is on soft ground or hilly? Carry wood blocks.
[D]Can you get the trailer wheel hubcaps off with tools you will have with you? I use a 6 inch crowbar with 90 degree bend at the end, bought just for that purpose.

Dennis M. in W. Tenn.

kcm.MN
Tractor Expert

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:08 am    Post subject: Re: are we prepared for a flat tire on trailer? Just sayin' Reply to specific post Reply with quote

Good points Dennis!