Yesterday's Tractor Co. Parts for Farm Tractors - Compare our Prices!
Click Here or call 800-853-2651 
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to plow a field

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Negligence
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: How to plow a field Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I'm new to farming (no family background in it, I'm just learning as I go) so I don't really know how one plows a field with a regular plow (not a reversible/rollover type). I bought a large tractor and a 4 furrow plow, now I just need to get out there.

Obviously it doesn't make sense to plow a field in one direction only because of the time spent looping back around to make the next pass. So how do you do it?

I thought of splitting the field in half -- and plowing the opposite direction on each side, so there would be a crown in the middle of the field. But I'm sure there's a better, tried-and-true method that will be simple for a new farmer to try.

Looking for the oldtimers on this one!

Phil in Pa
Long Time User

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:38 pm    Post subject: Re: How to plow a field Reply to specific post Reply with quote

We used to do both ways you describe.

Splitting the field in half, either plowing in to center or out to edges. The next time the field is plowed in a year or more, you plow the opposite way of the last time to keep the low furrows filled in.

I also plowed one way like you're describing, driving back one way with the plow up, in steeper fields. Just doing what I was told there, I didn't really get the logic.

camju