Yesterday's Tractor Co. Parts for Farm Tractors - Compare our Prices!
Click Here or call 800-853-2651 
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Electronic Ignition starting problem

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
HeyObie
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:51 pm    Post subject: Electronic Ignition starting problem Reply to specific post Reply with quote

This is my first post so I hope I don"t screw up.

But here is my situation. I recently bought a 49 8N because my 50 8N developed an engine problem and I had to keep running. So I have basic 8N knowledge

What I didn"t know when I bought the 49 was that it was converted to an Electronic Ignition system (this is a 6 volt system).

Now I did a little reading on the boards and I understand that I have the bad combination for EI systems. That is 6volt side mount.

With that said, I"d like to make it work if I can. So here is my problem.

It seems to usually starts right up but not always. But what is really unacceptable is that if I turn it off, it won"t start back up. It is like no spark but not sure. On another board, I was told that this is a sign of a bad coil. So I have one on the way.

My concern is that I an afraid that I will just fry the coil because the coil does not connect to the ballast resistor. The coil is grounded to the engine. There is a wire that runs from the electronic ignition to the same negative terminal as the ignition switch.

So I don"t know what to do to make this 49 start consistently. I don"t want the expense and effort of going 12 volt.