Yesterday's Tractor Co. Parts for Farm Tractors - Compare our Prices!
Click Here or call 800-853-2651 
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Do you sharpen your own tools?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dick2
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:12 am    Post subject: Do you sharpen your own tools? Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I started sharpening our tools when I was a sophomore in high school. Use whatever it takes. I've found that my rotary tool with a cut-off disc works real good on carbide saw teeth that are too hard to file.

Used the rotary tool to sharpen a couple Forstner bits this morning.

Puddles
Tractor Expert

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:26 am    Post subject: Re: Do you sharpen your own tools? Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I sharpen everything but skilsaw, and band saw blades.

RayP(MI)
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Do you sharpen your own tools? Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I would sure like to find a circular saw (skillsaw, table saw) sharpening service. Got a lot of blades that could provide useful service if they were sharpened.

Most everything else I do myself. Axes, knives, chainsaws, sicklebars,etc.

Mark-Ia
Tractor Expert

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Do you sharpen your own tools? Reply to specific post Reply with quote

You can sharpen your saw blades on a bench grinder. just need to touch the backside of the tooth on the wheel.

Cas
Long Time User

Report to Moderator