Yesterday's Tractor Co. Parts for Farm Tractors - Compare our Prices!
Click Here or call 800-853-2651 
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Show me your steel lathes !!!!!

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Husker44A
Tractor Expert

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: Show me your steel lathes !!!!! Reply to specific post Reply with quote

These are very fun to run. I'm not that advanced in life as some of you guy are (34 years young) Everything I've learned is all self taught. From reading books and the web on these machines. I'm also looking to get a knee mill at some point. Anyways, tell me what brand, age and how long have you owned it. We have a Grizzly 13x40. Not the best but it does what we want it to do fairly accurate. Please no CNC machines. Looking for older machines. Photo to come ....Thanks

JMS/.MN
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:56 am    Post subject: Re: Show me your steel lathes !!!!! Reply to specific post Reply with quote

1910 13 inch South Bend gear change with 6 foot bed (total length). About 3 feet between centers. Bought it about 1968 while in college, working at a machine shop. Bought a 50s(?) 18 inch swing quick change with 8 foot bed a few years ago. Both are floor models. Both lathes cost me either side of $900 at the time.

Husker44A
Tractor Expert

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: Show me your steel lathes !!!!! Reply to specific post Reply with quote

WOW!!!!! 1910 South Bend....very cool. And still going at 102 years old..

George Marsh
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator