Yesterday's Tractor Co. Parts for Farm Tractors - Compare our Prices!
Click Here or call 800-853-2651 
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Planting soybeens with JD 7000

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mauricew
New User

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:22 pm    Post subject: Planting soybeens with JD 7000 Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I am a new farmer with only haybaling under my belt. I would like to plant soybeans this year do to the alfalfa being 4 years old. I purchased a JD 7000 4 row planter (38") last week from a retired farmer. My question would be since the planter is not no till, how hard do i have to work the ground. I plan on trying to plant 30 acres on a slight hill (maybe c,d grade). Ps, the planter looks like new, still has factory tags on it.

Cooney Minnie
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Planting soybeens with JD 7000 Reply to specific post Reply with quote

My father no-tilled for 14 years with a planter just like yours with only one modification- he mounted four coulters to the frame, one ahead of each planter unit. These were old plow coulters. It planted beautifully in alfalfa sod, although we did not go very fast.

You are planting soy into what kind of ground? Corn stubble? The alfalfa?

JMS/.MN
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Planting soybeens with JD 7000 Reply to specific post Reply with quote