'53 Farmall Super H generator dead and gone?

CochiseIH

New User
I found that the generator (3 brush, nameplate illegible, with saddle mount Autolite TC-4301A "two charge" regulator) is not producing charge. I think it never has since I bought it 5 years ago. I've just used it a few hours, put it on the trickle charger, and assumed the ammeter was dead (its not). It's a working tractor, basically a big lawn mower with blade and carryall. There are 360 deg views of the Sulphur Springs valley and it is nice to be sitting high, riding on big ol tires and a sprung bucket seat.. It's used maybe 10 hours a year. It's not a parade tractor. Grandpa's never were either. I got the Autolite tech manual (awesome) and started to dig in to it, slowly (I'm retired). Gradually I became depressed. I don't like electric motors. I'm a mechanical engineer and got a C in electric motors. I like to see things, thus I like tractors, not electricity. I don't care about lights. The last thing I should be doing at night after a couple drinks is driving a tractor.

So... I'm just going take the generator, leave it on a 10w solar charger and treat battery charge like fuel in the tank. If that's not functional enough I'll do the alternator conversion. If there are any purists out there that want to swap a working gen for mine, and not a bunch of money, Im interested.

If you have a shop around that can test them the ones I've gone to will test it for free. NAPA used to but I don't know now. May not be your generator - could be the regulator. I'm sure someone will get on here and tell you how you can test it at home also.