Yesterday's Tractor Co.
Shop Now View Cart
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

JD 45 combine

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mark Poss
Long Time User

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:58 pm    Post subject: JD 45 combine Reply to specific post Reply with quote

Picking beans yesterday about ten bushel before I realized no beans were coming out of the clean grain auger. Seen that a chain came off for the auger but now combine is so plugged up that it won't engage. I spent all afternoon pulling stalks out of feeder house and straw walkers put a pipe wrench on shaft to clear clean grain auger, still won't engage belt just slips. This is my first combine so I am very new to this. Any ideas where to look for obstructions? Thanks, Mark

spacechem
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:51 pm    Post subject: Re: JD 45 combine Reply to specific post Reply with quote

There's a conveyor chain under the cylinder to take grain back to the cleaning shoe. I'd bet it's full. Raise the header, BLOCK IT UP, and open the door underneath. Try to be upwind when it opens...

spacechem
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:04 pm    Post subject: Re: JD 45 combine Reply to specific post Reply with quote

Thought some more after my earlier post. By "clean grain auger" do you mean the upper one in the grain tank? If so, you've got the entire machine plugged and a lot of work ahead. If you mean the lower one at the bottom of the machine, then my earlier post should help.