Yesterday's Tractor Co.
Shop Now View Cart
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

I just am not having any luck with this 9N

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dan
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:00 pm    Post subject: I just am not having any luck with this 9N Reply to specific post Reply with quote

Spent a little time out in the garage today working on the 1939 9N. I decided to try to remove the water pump studs from the block. Remembering what Hobo told me about using vice grips to get the studs moving, and not wanting to shear off any more studs, I gave it a try. Well, I guess I am not too good at that either as I snapped all three off...

I am starting to visualize a name for this tractor finally - Stud-a-breaker :-)

Get the drill back out...

Dan

crazy8
Long Time User

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: Re: I just am not having any luck with this 9N Reply to specific post Reply with quote

What was wrong with the studs?

Dunk
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:09 pm    Post subject: Re: I just am not having any luck with this 9N Reply to specific post Reply with quote

Snapping ONE is enough to start asking for professional advise.. Do you have a oxy/cetiline or oxy/propane cutting torch?

If not it would pay for your labor.

Fore you want to start messing with them studs, you want to turn em white all the way down to the cast iron, don't melt em, but turn em white, all the way down.

You have to burn the iron oxide off un of em (rust) in the holes, it takes HEAT, and a hot of it!!

Dan
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator