Yesterday's Tractor Co.
Shop Now View Cart
   Allis Chalmers Case Farmall IH Ford 9N,2N,8N Ford
   Ferguson John Deere Massey Ferguson Minn. Moline Oliver
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Traditional YT Forum ViewClassic View   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

plowed up sweet corn plot

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Brian in MI
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: plowed up sweet corn plot Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I finally got around to plow up the small plot I intend to plant sweet corn in. I sprayed the grass a week ago with round up to kill grass, but been so cool it is taking forever to kill it. Hope to plant by Memorial weekend. Used my 3910 with a Ford 101 2 botm 14" and disced with a Ford 202 6.5' disc. That is wonderful North Branch sand. This is my first time to plow this big of an area.

leeb
Regular

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Re: plowed up sweet corn plot Reply to specific post Reply with quote

I keep forgeting how late ya'll plant up north, we'll be eating fresh sweet corn on Memorial Day.

JDemaris
Tractor Guru

Report to Moderator

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 2:01 pm    Post subject: Re: plowed up sweet corn plot Reply to specific post Reply with quote

That grass almost doesn't look tall enough for Roundup to work well on it - especially in springtime when nutrients are going the wrong direction. I think our weather here in New York is a week or so ahead of your's - and I just got done plowing. I sprayed two weeks ago when the grass was 6"-8" and know I could of waited a little longer. But - I was afraid of the normal wet weather coming for a month and then not being able to do anything. I planted one patch of untreated sweet corn late yesterday and now it's getting so cold and wet - it might just rot. We'll see.