1957-960-5 Row Crop Packing Material Options.

Btzj02

Hi all. I have been participating on the 8N site for a few years and I have recently purchased a new project and this is my first post on this site. I am just starting to tear down a 1957 960-5 Wide Front Row Crop. I am starting to find that all gaskets are not available but, I am getting pretty good at making my own. My question is replacing packing, specifically on the steering column/gear. I am thinking of using thin Graphite valve stem packing but thought I would ask and see what everyone else has used with success.

Thanks

(quoted from post at 07:47:55 12/23/23) Hi all. I have been participating on the 8N site for a few years and I have recently purchased a new project and this is my first post on this site. I am just starting to tear down a 1957 960-5 Wide Front Row Crop. I am starting to find that all gaskets are not available but, I am getting pretty good at making my own. My question is replacing packing, specifically on the steering column/gear. I am thinking of using thin Graphite valve stem packing but thought I would ask and see what everyone else has used with success.

Thanks

I don't know if this is what you are asking about, but your reference to "steering column" tells me that you are asking about the seal at the top of the tube under the steering wheel. Messick's has 14 on hand.

I am refering to the packing on the bottom the column shaft and on the sector gear shaft. Part number 3564-A and 33546-A. I don't have it dissasembled yet so not sure what it looks like. Might be able to find an off the shelf part that will work.