Air compressors.

Anonymous-0

I want to do some serious sand blasting ie large tractor parts, My 5hp 60 gal 135 psi max air compressor cant handle it. The cheapest way seems to be buy another compressor of similar rating and let them both feed the pressure sand blaster. Any drawbacks.?

When I selected a large compressor for my former company I remember that if you had 2 compressors feeding a large mfg. plant you had to have a sequencer to adjust both compressors to turn on and feed a receiver tank. I would do a search on the net to see if a pressure switch located in the receiver tank is needed to turn on both compressor motors. I am not an expert in air compressors and hopefully somebody else here will chime in and correct me if I am wrong.

What is important is the (CFM)Cubic Feet per Minute produced at 90 PSI.which is the required pressure for most air tools for their rated work output.Volume is your problem.The compressor you got would be fine for painting or tools that need less than the output volume stated on the compressor.You need more volume not pressure. CENTAUR

If you want to do honest to goodness sand blasting with a pressure pot, you need an honest to goodness compressor capable of moving enough air to do the job. Electric compressors just don't cut the mustard.

Here's mine

<a href="http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/chuckhanna/detail?.dir=5ca9re2&.dnm=5d9fre2.jpg">Atlas-Copco Compressor</a>

Charles

You can do that -- be sure the pressure switches are set the same. Don't buy a two stage if you intend to continue using your single stage. You can't get the off pressure of the 2 stage low enough to allow the single stage to come on, at least mine doesn't, there may be a way to make it work, though. My 24 cfm 2 stage works fairly well, just slow.