1927 John Deere D - Resurrection from the Depths

Ken Christopherson

Good morning, all!

I just thought I would share the story of this tractor with you all, and if you wanted to follow along, it is all being chronicled on my
YouTube channel (link below). Let me first start by throwing out the disclaimer that I am NOT a professional. I expect criticism at every
turn, but I do the best I can do with the tools and knowledge that I have. I ask questions. I have manuals (which for these early tractors
aren't very descriptive).. And I enjoy being a glutton for punishment.

This project originally started with a mostly complete 1928 D (S# 58664) that I bought from a friend. After diving into the teardown of
this tractor, it was apparent to me that it had been 'thrown together', most likely as a piece of yard art or similar. This wasn't my first
adventure with a forgotten, stuck, and neglected tractor (as I said, I am a glutton for punishment)... Seeing what condition this tractor
was in, I decided I better start looking for a parts tractor.

Another friend of mine had a friend in Nebraska (I am about an hour north of Minneapolis) that had a rear section from a 1927 D with keyed
crankshaft. Him and I worked a deal and we ran down to pick up this rear section. After much thought and inspection, I decided I would
build back the 1927 D and use the 1928 D as a parts tractor.

So far,both tractors have been 99% disassembled (with the exception of the clutch pulley and rear axles/housings). The crankshaft has been
sent out for machining - is ground and polished at .030 (Crankshaft Supply in Minneapolis), the engine block is out for boring - .125
over (Auto Value - St. Cloud, MN), the camshaft has been sent out for grinding/resurfacing (Berry Cam Service - Lester Prairie, MN). The
cylinder head is in for reworking (Lloyd's Cylinder Head in Rogers, MN)... And the rods and mains have been sent to Paul's Rod and Bearing
in Parkersville, MO.