Another Electrical question

Most if not all air conditioning compressor/condensers specify a dedicated circuit. The NEC also agrees with that.

Also, most have a 'max circuit ampacity' spec on the tag.

To protect any warranty I would want to adhere to those specs.

A small breaker box with the correct breakers will allow one to fulfill those needs and likely cheaper than tandem breakers at the main.

Most if not all air conditioning compressor/condensers specify a dedicated circuit. The NEC also agrees with that.

Ken FWIW thats my recollection, but my NEC is outdated grrrrrrrrr and I cant verify it yes or no ... As an Attorney and Engineer I have studied BOTH the NEC and Legal Statutes BUT THINK THE NEC IS HARDER TO COMPREHEND LOL

Regardless, I'm not a fan of using the TAP RULES (which I dont think applies here) to run out a single branch circuit for one AC then splice/tap conductors over to a second AC..NOT HOW I WOULD DESIGN IT.......and it may or may NOT (have to check code) be NEC permissible

Of course it can WORK and people have the free choice to wire as THEY like regardless if NEC compliant, regardless if cheaper or more expensive, its not up to me to tell them how to wire TO EACH THEIR OWN let them do whatever they like EVEN IF its unsafe, even if its contrary to NEC or Inspectors or any of us YTers lol

Take care yall please be safe but wire as you well like its a free Country

John T

Thanks for the help guys.

It is not true I do not like the answers given.
I just do not understand the answers given.
I'm not understanding why I can protect a 4 amp toaster with a 20 amp breaker but I can not protect a 20 amp A/C with a 40 amp breaker.

Also anyone that says it will not work because a disconnect must be within site of the A/C does not understand what I was asking because with my set up there will be a disconnect. I was just trying to run 2 units off a single disconnect.

But I think Ken gave me the answer I needed.