Automotive Scissor Lift

Glenn F.

For years now I have been toying with getting an automotive scissor lift for my rather low ceiling shop. What have your experiences been with such lifts? What brand(s) do you recommend? Do used ones often come for sale? I do not want a low rise two post lift. All feedback is appreciated.

Thank you,
Glenn F.
NEWI

I have no knowledge of scissor lifts to share, but my neighbor modified the trusses of his two-car garage to get a two post lift in there. He can lift a car up enough to do most basic maintenance.

All depends on the design.
Some you can't even get under a car to drain the oil, let alone do any repairs.
Others are okay to get a car up high enough to make getting under it easier. Basically you are still on the ground working when you only have an 8 or 10 foot ceiling to work with.
If you want it for changing oil for the most part. A good set of ramps work just as good and does to take up much space when not in use.

We have four at work , three brands.
Atlas , Bend Pack and Challenger. I think the Challenger is the best of those three.
It seems more sturdy and lifts a little higher. They're all rated for 6000 lbs , but I've pushed the limit and lifted a diesel pickup partway .then set it on safety stands.
I do body work and they are very handy I 'll lift them up and use a rolling chair to work on the lower parts. They lift about 4 feet
with the tall pads.
You won't want one for tranny's or exhaust , but it makes brakes and bumper removal much nicer.
The rolling wheels leave marks on the concrete I'd suggest a steel plate if you have a nice floor.
You can move them around fairly easy to a different spot if needed. Low cars might need a plank to drive up on.