Battery education needed

IaLeo

I was warned about all the terrible, expensive experience with batteries.......I ignorantly bought a 2002 Club Car 48volt cart with the dealer info .."we think there are two more good years...." and we will put in a new "charge status thing"..it showed about 3/4 charge. Well OK, not!

Cart ran and speed control was jerky...it needed a new controller, something I think I can get under and replace...just haven't had time to do it yet. BUT...

The batteries were "watered" after the charge status thing showed the charge going down to 50%.

Hooked up the provided charger and it maxes? out at 15 amps and stays there for days...HUH?

Bought a hygrometer(sp)? and sampled a battery or two: RECHARGE! Now wtf? Recharger will not charge...so am I had, with a need for 6 new batteries....so soon?

I was warned, sort of, just wondered if I am missing something.
Leo

I'm far from a battery expert but here is
how I read it. The hydrometer is measuring
the specific gravity in the battery fluid.
Basically how much electrolyte you have.
When you add distilled water to the
battery you aren't adding the electrolyte
[ battery acid]. It will lose some over
time. When the hydrometer says recharge
it is likely telling you the battery needs
additional acid. Once that balance is
restored you have a much better charge
capability.

Or I'm all wrong and someone will point
that out.

Hmmm, never knew the acid "evaporated". I'll have to look into that and see where to get the right kind of acid. Thanks Leo

When you have multiple batteries, it's always best to replace all, not one at
a time.

The hydrometer test will show the condition of each cell. Look for equal
charge levels between each cell. If they are varied, especially of one shows
as really low, and will typically have dirty floaters drawn up with the
electrolyte, that cell is bad, and the battery is done for.

I don't believe there is any need to add acid to a battery that is already in