Buckwheat Fert

DavidT1

Hello,
For those of you that raise Buckwheat for a cash grain crop, what is your fertilizer program and do you broadcast all fertilizer, do a split and band some or use liquid? Thanks!

Hello,
For those of you that raise Buckwheat for a cash grain crop, what is your fertilizer program and do you broadcast all fertilizer, do a split and band some or use liquid? Thanks!
I've heard buckwheat doesn't need fertilizer or at least very little. I've planted it as a cover crop before without fertilizer and it seemed to do fine. Never tried to harvest the grain.

I'm no expert as I don't do much buckwheat - usually just a cover for a following hay crop. But it seems to do exceptionally well with me fertilizing it very lightly in anticipation of getting the soil a little sweeter for the following crop. The chap up the road who grows a lot of it doesn't fertilize at all for the buckwheat crop, but gives all his buckwheat fields a hefty dose of wollastonite before buckwheat (probably not necessary for buckwheat - I suspect more for his subsequent crops). He does go heavy on the fertilizer for everything else in his rotation.

Because it's planted/fertilized later in the season and I only ever have one field of it at a time, it's not worth me trucking in bulk fertilizer for it. I fertilize it using a mounted spreader and just buying 50# bags. I don't know that' I've ever been too concerned with exactly what and how much I'm putting on. As I say, the fertilizer I put on is more to get the soil slightly prep'd for the following crop. The chap up the road says that too much fertilizer on buckwheat is like too much N on some cereals: It'll have excessive vegetative growth, grow crazy tall, lodge, and become a nightmare to combine, but this excessive growth it won't increase seed yield by any significant amount.