Cattle feeding questions

jon f mn

I have little experience with raising cattle, mostly hogs for me. When I was young dad would sometimes feed out some steers but they just at at the bunk with the cows and got the leftovers from the barn. Been feeding on this farm for 4 years now, the first 2 were just hay and ground corn/oats. Last year I chopped silage and fed hay and ground corn. This year I'm thinking about putting in a self feeder like a steer stuffer with my good Hay and a mix of ground ear corn and barley. The cattle are holstiens. I may still chop silage too, but with the 11 plus inches of rain we got this weekend that would be an adventure to say the least. Plus feeding after work gets old. But my question is, if I feed silage will they eat it if they have ground corn in a feeder? Or will they just eat the ground corn and eave the silage? And what would be a good mix for the feeder if I do that? Will be ear corn and barley, maybe 1/3 barley by volume, plus tm salt and minerals. Would I need anything else? They will get all the good hay they want as well.

My other option is to do like last year, silage and hay and ground feed fed by hand.

How about a used small mixer wagon like a Knight Little Auggie. They go for pretty short money. You could probably load the wagon once a day and put the mix out half in the AM and half in the PM. Your feed analysis reports would tell you what you need to add to your hay or forage.