farmall M help building BIG motor !

boot

New User
Hi, new here, but it looks like a great place to be.
I have a lot of engine building experience ( cars, trucks, boats etc.) But this M, I don't know what we can get away with. Budget is reasonable. Horse power is critical ! :twisted:
I believe the M is 248 cubic inch. Its distillate, low compression. It has a big hump on top of the piston. Looks like we need an LP head. How much can be shaved off that to raise compression? Willing to have ported and bigger valves installed. How much can you deck the block? Someone mentioned boring the block and installing larger sleeves from the 450 gas (280 inch) ? Is that right? Or bore it out and have custom sleeves and pistons made even bigger? Will have a cam made for it. LP manifolds also ported. And then what to do with carb?

We want to go big. Big cubic inch ( 300 in. ?) high compression (10 to1 or more), port everything, balance everything, slick coat everything, cryo the crank for strength, make a copper head gasket (thin) etc.

Any suggesions would be great. But please don't guess..

Thanks, Joe

Joe,wow , you sound like your wanting some serious power, I am not a fan of domed pistons for what you want, You can deck the block a quite a bit if, u have the right piston! Have you seen Denny Carb Shop,Tractor products. You can get pistons from him to run in the dry holes on a M, that will give you 306 cu in. You have to use the smaller wrist pins, but that's not a problem. He got a web siter! have fun!