Fluid filled tires?

Smiles79

I was working on my new to me TO20 and noticed the tires looked low, so I went to fill them. When I took the valve stem cap off one side I heard air leaking out and what I thought was water sputtering out as well. On the other side, I took the valve stem cap off and a solid stream of a murky white liquid was coming out.

You'll have to excuse me as I'm new to the tractor world, are these tires fluid filled? If so, how do you pressurize the tire if there's fluid in it?

Also, do these valve stems not work like on my truck, where the Schrader valve needs to be depressed for anything to come in or out, or are these just bad?

Thanks!

It is common practice for rear tires on tractors to be filled
with fluid for weight. Usually they are filled
(approximately) to a level even with the uppermost
portion of the metal rim so the tire above that is still filled
with air. When adding air (to achieve the correct
pressure) the wheel should be rotated so the valve stem
is at the very top. The fluid is most commonly a calcium
chloride solution (which doesnt freeze and weighs
roughly double what water does) which is a salt and very
corrosive towards metal. Any spillage should be washed
off. The valve stems are similar to those in regular
vehicles and should not be leaking. The difference is the
outer portion can (usually) be replaced as well as the
inner portion if it isnt too badly corroded.

The stem should have the same Schrader valve inside the core housing as your truck. If you had fluid or air coming out when you removed the core housing cap, the Schrader valve has failed. It is not uncommon for the fluid to corrode the Schrader valve leading to leakage. You might be able to replace it, you might be able to replace the entire core housing, or you might end up needing to replace the tube. (I am guessing your TO20 has tube tires.) Below are some pictures of a TR218A liquid fill tube stem to help you ID what you have.

mvphoto100577.gif