Ford 860 clutch brake lever

56 ford 860

New User
So where my clutch lever goes into the housing it is leaking oil out of it any ideas on how to fix and how hard it would be to do. I am very new to this stuff
mvphoto108520.jpg

mvphoto108521.jpg

That shaft is just riding in a bushing, so there is no seal, and that area in the bell housing should be dry. If oil is coming out of there, then either the rear of the engine, or the front of the transmission, or both is/are leaking into the bell housing, and the hole on the bottom of the bell housing is clogged with dirt so that the fluid leaking in there is not draining out of the hole. There should be a cotter pin in the hole in the bottom of the bell housing that should be free to rattle around as the tractor runs to keep the hole from getting clogged.

The pin clutch pedal pivots on is tapered with nut and cottered on inside. The only way to access nut to remove gears witch requires double split. That pin is first part that goes in when assembling trans.

(quoted from post at 19:46:59 08/12/23) That shaft is just riding in a bushing, so there is no seal, and that area in the bell housing should be dry. If oil is coming out of there, then either the rear of the engine, or the front of the transmission, or both is/are leaking into the bell housing, and the hole on the bottom of the bell housing is clogged with dirt so that the fluid leaking in there is not draining out of the hole. There should be a cotter pin in the hole in the bottom of the bell housing that should be free to rattle around as the tractor runs to keep the hole from getting clogged.
Thank you I am going to tear into it a little bit today. Thank this is what I needed to know there is a cotter pin down there that rattles I assume I can take that plate that it s on to look up inside there maybe