MF245 Orchard - Hyd Elbow Stripped

JRBamaTex

New User
Hello, This is my first post here. I have been purchasing parts for my 245 Orchard from YT since I got it a couple of months
ago. Today while chasing a hydraulic leak at the Aux Valve Manifold, I discovered a problem with the elbow fitting on the left
side cover. The jam nut that holds the elbow fitting tight against the outside of the cover is super stripped. I believe it is
the supply/output side that feeds the Aux Valve. As near as I can tell the elbow fitting is threaded into something on the
inside of the cover. I think it is called the stand pipe but not positive. With the jam nut completely stripped the elbow
fitting is free to flex in and out of the hole and I assume that it is flexing on the pipe that it is connected to inside the
cover. Before I go any further and try to unscrew the elbow from whatever it is hooked to inside the tractor I thought I'd
better seek some advise from someone that knows for sure. I have read my service manual that I purchased from YT it isn't very
definitive on this specific issue. The internet doesn't seem to know either.

Grateful for any information that you might have on my issue. Going to try to attach a picture for reference.
cvphoto158456.jpg

I called the fitting an elbow above but it's probably better referred to as a bulkhead type fitting. My ultimate question is; Can I unscrew it from the outside or will it just spin a nut or connector on the inside which needs to be held while tightening or loosening? Or worse could the nut/fitting on the inside just fall down into the tractor?

(quoted from post at 15:13:57 07/13/23) I called the fitting an elbow above but it's probably better referred to as a bulkhead type fitting. My ultimate question is; Can I unscrew it from the outside or will it just spin a nut or connector on the inside which needs to be held while tightening or loosening? Or worse could the nut/fitting on the inside just fall down into the tractor?