TO20 Oil Pan Access Welded On?

GrayBlue2409

New User
Newbie here.

I just bought a Ferguson TO20, and discovered that the plate at the bottom of the oil pan for access to the oil filter has been welded on.

After a search of the forum, I've read that a few others have found this.

Is this a common practice? Is there a good reason for the practice?

Is it only necessary to change the oil, but not the filter, for some odd reason?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

main reason is some people are stupid second is the pan got bent and it a easy fix to weld it your only option is find a new pan and cover

(quoted from post at 15:51:16 07/12/23) this site has them 192.00 also
They can be a booger to get sealed again might be one reason for welding it. BUT, the oil filtration system on many of these old tractors is pretty lame at best. IT IS NOT A FULL FLOW OIL FILTRATION SYSTEM!. It is a bypass or shunt oil filtration system. Only a very small side stream of oil passes through the filter and only then if small bypass hole or orifice is NOT plugged with dirt or carbon. On more than one occasion I have found that hole plugged and other than making one feel better, changing the oil filter would be a waste of time because no oil would flow through it due to the plugged hole. If this is a play or parade tractor you d probably be just as well off without a filter and just change oil. Todays oils are better and the hassle of getting a sub par at best filtration system to "not leak" might be more work than just keeping good modern oil in it and changing it. I have encountered this plugged hole on a TO20, VAC Case and Gehl skid steer with Wisconsin VH4D. Just my 5 cents worth.

Ok, seems like it would be more hassle than what it's worth.

I'll be doing some light gardening work, and occasional mowing, so it's not a seriously heavy use.

Thanks for the answers!