5525 Transmission problems

Destroked 450

A neighbor has a 5525 with 9 spd Sync Shuddle transmission that hangs up in 1st gear, doesn't matter what range it's in.
He says it shifts into 1st with no issues but is nearly impossible to shift it back out
Local JD dealer tells him the tractor isn't worth fixing and quoted him nearly $19k in parts and labor to repair, $10k is for labor
He's asked me to help him work on it in his shop but I have no experience with this model or transmission design.
The tractors I own and maintain are a different color and the green tractors I have worked on were older 70's thru early 90's models, most of that was engine, fuel system, hydraulics and clutch work

Anyone familiar with this model and transmission that could tell me what the issue could be and how much work is involved to repair it
Tractor is 2wd but is a cab model

My guess is a synchronizer has failed. Shifting problem could be as simple as sticking shifter rail detent. It's difficult to comprehend $10K labor & $9K parts will be required to repair this trans.

This post was edited by Tx Jim on 11/10/2021 at 08:30 am.

(quoted from post at 09:21:53 11/10/21) My guess is a synchronizer has failed. Shifting problem could be as simple as sticking shifter rail detent. It's difficult to comprehend $10K labor & $9K parts will be required to repair this trans.

This post was edited by Tx Jim on 11/10/2021 at 08:30 am.

I think I can fix that for 1K and 0.9K in labor and parts if open station.
If 5525 is not oddball, parts for the 5 series are the least expensive, because aftermarkets are available in India or other middle east countries, where those are sold a lot.
It is impressive that so called "Deere service" can quote more to fix a 9F-3R tranny than to put a new front pack on a 4960....
I guess there is only one way to make $6B profit: "Never take your customers for idiots, but never forget that they are". Must be their every day, every time moto.