8N 12v conversion

Niley

New User
I have a 1950 Ford 8N. Decided to do the 12v conversion, bought the kit (alternator, coil, wiring harness) for a side mount distributor engine and installed. I am not a mechanic, I just followed the diagram and now the tractor wont start. Turns over as it should but wont fire up. The motor ran fine last week before the conversion. Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Take a voltmeter and check the voltage at the coil with the switch on. If no voltage, you may have inadvertently disconnected power
from the switch to the coil. If power is present, and you removed spark plug wires to have more working room, check their replacement
order. Let us know your troubleshooting steps.

If you used the ignition resistor on the back of the dash for a junction as in the diagram it could be not making a circuit through the windings,check for voltage with the switch on both sides.

(quoted from post at 15:49:47 11/13/21) I have a 1950 Ford 8N. Decided to do the 12v conversion, bought the kit (alternator, coil, wiring harness) for a side mount distributor engine and installed. I am not a mechanic, I just followed the diagram and now the tractor wont start. Turns over as it should but wont fire up. The motor ran fine last week before the conversion. Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

(quoted from post at 19:55:42 11/15/21)
(quoted from post at 15:49:47 11/13/21) I have a 1950 Ford 8N. Decided to do the 12v conversion, bought the kit (alternator, coil, wiring harness) for a side mount distributor engine and installed. I am not a mechanic, I just followed the diagram and now the tractor wont start. Turns over as it should but wont fire up. The motor ran fine last week before the conversion. Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
/quote]yes he did. I saw that, too. :)