9N Starting Trouble

dgr146

New User
Hello. I am a newbie. This is only my second post;first about engine starting issues. I have been working on this tractor on and off since spring trying to get it to start and run consistently. Until now I have been able to research and follow along on others' posts about similar problems to mine for solutions, which has worked pretty well up until now. So now it's my turn to ask for guidance from the experts. The tractor is only used for occasional brush hogging a few acres of field, minor back blading to clean up snow and grading the driveway. Not heavy all day consistent use.

My tractor is a 1940 9N. Front mount dist/sqr coil and converted to 12 volts years ago by the previous owner. It has a Delco/Remy 3 wire alternator. Compression is 110 all four cylinders. My dad has owned the tractor for approx 25 years and really has done nothing other than fluid changes and spark plugs during that time. I seem to have inherited this machine with a renewed interest to get it running tip top. The tractor is located at his cabin property so I do not have daily access to it to trouble shoot my issues. but, I've taken many pictures and notes that I am hoping will provide answers to any follow up trouble shooting questions you may have.