Cleaning Spray Tanks

Traditional Farmer

Have 3 old spray tanks mounted on pull type spray rigs about 500 gal each 2 stainless steel 1 aluminum,want to use them to carry plain water.Have had them between 10 and 20 years,they are empty.What can I use to throughly clean them out?

I have no personal experience, but looked this up.
https://www.external_link.com/tsc/product/farmworks-spray-tank-cleaner-2111174?store=2056&cid=Shopping-Google-Local_Feed&utm_medium=Google&utm_source=Shopping&utm_campaign=&utm_content=Local_Feed&gclid=CjwKCAjwrpOiBhBVEiwA_473dLAmda3ZG6h2LEMxVEpCyzv9QGBqw4jo8z0EnXa-qWAV4kEQLqd8DxoCqoEQAvD_BwE

I'd fill with water and 1 gallon of household cleaning ammonia per 100 gallon and let it sit for a day or two, then drain and rinse repeatedly.

I've sprayed inside my 150 gallon tank with a pressure washer. Don't know if that would work in a tank like yours. I had a lot of alge in my tank from pumping water from a creek. Its a tank for watering the garden, not spraying.

When I was a kid about 14, my dad finished spraying corn. He washed the sprayer out with soapy water and then rinsed it out with clear water. Well one year he washed out the sprayer and filled the tank with clear water. Something came up and being in a hurry he had to leave to do something. He left the garden hose in the sprayer tank and shut the hydrant off which was sticking through the well cover. The residue from the spray, I think it was 2-4-D in the clear water siphoned back in our well. Our water had an awful taste and smell the rest of that summer, tea or lemonade would not disguise it. I think we ended up hauling drinking water for a couple months! When I think about spraying on the farm I always remember that year. Early 60s.