Fluid Bubbling out of shift boot Ford 4500

Hi All - So i was doing some brush hogging today, Probably about an hour. I noticed the case of the transmission was getting hot feeling, and then Fluid started coming out of the shift boots and it appeared to be bubbling or boiling?

I took a picture then shut off the tractor.

I did not notice any issues with the engine during this time as far as overheating.

This is my first time owning a tractor and new to them in really almost every way. Any help would be appreciated.

mvphoto108921.jpg

You are really going to want to get an Operator's Manual. It will save you a lot of time and money.

I think for now, you really need to check the fluid level of your transmission. There should be a smaller plug on the other side from your
photo. About at the level of the floor boards (IIRC). If the transmission is overfilled, you'll need to figure out where that fluid came
from. (Again IIRC) those tractors use the same fluid reservoir for the hydraulic system and the rear axle. That level plug is just further
back from the transmission's.

Check both... What do you find?

It's obviously way overfull - with water. You need to get that nasty stuff drained out of there, and preferably flushed with
diesel fuel or something similar a couple of times before you fill it with fresh oil. Hopefully the bearings will still be OK.

You also need to figure out how all of that water got it there. Looks to me like it was parked under a leaking gutter with the
filler cap missing.

Just as well do the R/A hyd section too. Level plugs about step level on rite side. Trans and r/a hyd seperate compartments.

This was really a lucky event for you on a couple levels.
The worst being if you live in a freezing environment, the
water would have separated and froze up and broke
something.

Thank you guys for getting back to me you guys, I appreciate the help.