Heisler 9 Speed - Farmall M

Just curious to get some opinions on the Heisler. I have the chance to pick up a Farmall M that has the Heisler 9 speed in it. I am not familiar with either the M&W or Heisler, but have heard they are pretty nice to have. The M wouldn't be used for anything other than occasionally mowing and maybe pulling a hay wagon for parades and such. No big field work or hard work for it. Just wondering about benefits and how easy they are work on and if it has issues, can you still utilize the tractors normal gear range. Appreciate any thoughts and/or opinions on it.

one of my m s. has the m+w 9 speed. makes the tractor a lot more useful. it gives you 4 more higher gears between the standard 4th and road gear, never had any problems with it. one thing to keep in mind when the 9 speed is in high range, the pto speed is doubled so be careful.

I have no personal experience with them but I can tell you a little about hoe they work. If you know how most manual transmissions are set up and how they move the power through it is pretty simple. So most manual transmissions prior to the prominence of overdrive transmissions have a gear on the input shaft to the transmission that the shaft connected to the clutch turns. This gear is always in mesh with a gear on the lower shaft of the transmission often called the counter shaft. So when you let you foot off the clutch the lower transmission shaft is alway turning. Now the back part of the upper transmission shaft is connected by gear mesh to turn the wheels. So being as the Farmall transmission is pretty simple when you move the shifter to select a gear you are sliding a gear on the top transmission shaft to engage into its mating gear on the counter shaft. Then when you let the clutch up the machine moves power driven through the input gear, to the counter shaft and back up to the main shaft by the gear you selected. In a Farmall and many other pre-overdrive transmissions the highest speed is direct throug