Hydraulic help.

Ok, I'm a newbie, so excuse my ignorance.
I have a 1958 MF65 gas with a Bush Hog
2400qt loader. The guy I bought this setup
from told me to not use the loader
hydraulics when you're using the rear
hydraulics. No explanation other than
that's what his Dad always said. I'm
assuming that's due to the pressurized
system. Well, not remembering anyway..I lifted the
bucket off the ground to move the tractor,
then dropped the implement to the ground.
Now I can't raise or lower either these
loaded bucket or raise the rear lift arms.
Help? Does this even make sense that you
can't use both? What about snow removal
with a blade then using your bucket to
pile? Can't do that either? I'm sorry, I
probably come off as an idiot, because
it's something so simple that I've not
thought of. Anyway, thanks in advance.

Actually, it makes a lot of sense. I am assuming you have a hydraulic control bolted on the top cover just under and forward of the seat to the right. If so, your lever sequence is out of order. I had a 165 with a similar setup. To use the loader, I had to have the 3 point control on the right side of the seat, between the seat and fender in constant pumping, then had the first control lever on the top cover set to divert flow to a loader valve. If I wanted the 3 point to work, I would raise the loader and then move the lever on the right of the seat out of constant pumping.

If you do not have the valve in front of the seat, I would have to see the plumbing of the lines to figure out the lever sequence.

The loader and 3 point are using the same pump for fluid. The hydraulic valve is controlling the direction of fluid flow and the action of the pump. This is why you cannot use the loader and 3 point at the same time. It is a weird setup but when you get accustomed to the lever placement, it will be no issue. I got fairly fast at switching from one function to the other.

Hopefully this helps. Posting some pictures may help determine the setup.