If I was a Lawn Mower designer......

Eric in IL

I think I would make an experimental deck. The technology is already proven.

I'd make a deck based on a disc mower that is used in the hayfields.

Shorter blade surfaces to sharpen. With the discs covering most of the underside of the deck, less surfaces for gunk to stick to.

The only problem might be a lack of lift or blowing power for a side discharge. The blades would have to have a wing for lift so would be non-reversible.

No deck belt and cheaper blades.

Maybe this has already been tried.

If I was a Lawn Mower designer:
1. I would design one for an old man with a bad back.
2. I would design one that doesn't stir up grass mold, which I allergic too.
3. I would design one that chops all grass clippings.
4. Must have air conditioning too.
5. Oh well, I won't need any of the above is it's AI, self driving.

6. Has to be cordless so I don't need to service engine. I want it will back up to charging station.
7. Has to be programmable, so it cuts grass when needed.
8. Has to have self sharpening blades too.

Look at TORO (my ride ) both seat and foot deck float up and down 3 in and is adjustable for weight

My answer would be; make a mower deck that is flat or slightly angled on top, making it easier to clean up, rather than the humps and bumps most lawn tractors have that hold clippings and take a lot of hose work to clean - waste of water.

Rear discharge the width of the deck. Dad had one that was that way, F 911 or something like that. Could mow close to objects on either side, now has a zero turn 757 side discharge. Can only mow close on one side and when it's windy the cut grass blows back at you.

For our area, I would want a tracked machine for our soft, often soggy ground. The tracks would have to be rounded and pretty smooth to not tear up the turf.