introduction

BarkMulcher

New User
Hey everyone. I am new to tractors entirely, aside from a few projects my dad had when I was a boy.

I bought a small plot of land this year and after hauling the first six felled trees using my hi-lift Jack as a winch, I decided I needed something more substantial to do the work for me.

So I now have a Case 222. Right off the bat it needed both the hydraulic lines to/from the lift cylinder - the elbow was bent and cracked on one, and the rubber had deteriorated on the other. The fella I bought it from said it'd been sitting untouched in a barn for fifteen years. Surprisingly it starts right up - I drove it around the guy's dooryard a few times. How about that.

I assume it'd benefit from a full flush and fill of engine oil and hydraulic oil. I read on another thread that 10W30 is recommended for my climes. What engine oil do you recommend? Anything else I should do or keep an eye out for?

How hard is it to find the hydraulic PTO assembly for these? If I understand the experts here, most of the available implements are driven by hydraulic flow.

Anyway, thanks for reading. Cheers.
cvphoto133483.jpg

Welcome to YT. As a Case collector myself, I would recommend Barneveld Implement 608-924-1662 for Case garden tractor parts. And be sure to have your serial number when you call them.

Welcome, you'll find lots of knowledge here. Read some of the other discussion boards. Tool talk and others are a wealth of information. And yes, I would change all the fluids and filters. Maybe buy a manual on line.
Dave

You can use most any oil in the engine, but what you have in the hydraulics means only stocking one oil. I do use 15/40 in mine, but I use that in everything on my farm.

As for engine oil, I would use 15w-40 synthetic diesel oil.

Synthetic because it tolerates the wide temperature swings of an air cooled engine, and diesel because it better fits the needs of a non-emission controlled engine with flat tappet lifters.