Leaking Mt Hydraulic Pump

nisse

I have now taken off the hydraulic pump 2 times to try and fix it from leaking. The first time I thought I had it ready to go after replacing the seals and bearings but it still leaked because I rolled over the lip of the seal. I replaced that seal but it still leaks badly, I was thinking the shaft may be worn causing it to leak. There is a worn area, but it is only about .003" smaller, would that cause a pretty significant leak? What would be the best way to build it up? I have stick and mig welders in my shop, but I could have it tigged at work. I am a machinist by trade, so that part shouldn't be a issue.
Thanks,
John
a262974.jpg

a262975.jpg

First of all, I assume you are installing the seals properly, with the lips facing away from each other? Good idea to put a dab of grease between the lips.

Also, put some sealant on the outside of the seals to be sure they seal to the bore.

The shaft doesn't look real bad in the sealing area, how about putting some type of spacer in the bore before the seals to move them outward just a little, .025" or .030" would be enough to get the seal lip an new metal, is there room to do that without interference with the coupling? For that matter, you could machine the bore a little deeper and move the seals inward enough to wear on new metal.

Just went and looked on jdparts and was surprised that the double-lip seal (AM586T) is still available, DEERE has subbed many double-lipped seals to two single-lipped deals. INTERESTING to note that the OEM seal is shown as having NO garter springs.

Are you using the genuine DEERE seal, or two generic seals back-to-back?

The way it's set up, using a Speedi-Sleeve should be an option as well.

jdparts shows the shaft diameter as .874" and a Speedi-Sleeve # 99087 fits shaft sizes .873" to .877", is .313" wide after installation.