M has no spark

Mark Poss

I have a 1950 M that has been converted to 12 volt. Looks to still have the 6 volt coil with the resistor wired next to it. I have spark at the points. I cleaned up all of the contacts on the cap and put it back on but nothing coming through. Im not very good with electrical. Tractor has a corn picker mounted on it so its a real PITA to work on. I had it running a month ago. Id like to get it running and take the picker off and convert to electronic ignition. Thanks for any advice, Mark

Probably getting way ahead of myself as usual but I'll ask as to what make and model picker and if you plan to keep it.

The cap could be bad and grounding out the spark or the rotor could be bad. One way to check if the cap is bad but you will only do it once is grab the cap and try to start it. If you get zapped it is bad but it will not feel good

Use a wooden spring type clothes pin to hold the coil wire so that the end that was in the center of the cap is 1/4 inch away from the block. In neutral and brakes locked (or wheels chocked) see if spark jumps to the block. If yes, the issue is in the rotor or cap. If not the coil may be toast. Jim

Thinking about this for a few minutes now. Do you have a tester to know how much current you are getting along the circuit? With the plug wire end 3/8 of an inch away from the spark plug and turning the engine over with the ignition button in the on position you are not seeing a spark jump that gap? The cap installed correctly relative to the firing order and following the firing order per the sequence shown on the cylinder head?

You say you have 'spark' at the points. If it truly is a visible spark at the points - that's not good. That's typically a sign of a bad condenser, which causes the points to arc, and subsequently can burn out the points so you're not getting proper/consistent spark.