NEED SOME ADVISE ON TOUCH O MATIC OIL

OK I have a Model M , I just purchased and I am changing all the oils . The book calls for 10w motor oil on the Touch O Matic system . When I drained the TOM system I got what looks like ATF it was a red color. would that be the JD hydraulic oil from the dealer? or did the PO use ATF? I cannot find 10 or 20 wt non-detergent oil . I can find 30wt N.D., can I use that ? I have no leaks and the system seems to work good, Thanks for you responses.

steve

Tractor supply sells 10, 20, & 30 weight. I would try and get
non-detergent no matter what otherwise I think it will foam up
in the system. I think 30 would be fine but might be a bit thick
for winter use.

You may be right, but, I've been using 10-30 for 25 yrs. in my Power-trol unit without any problems. Current oil specs are WAY better lubricating wise than that was used 'back in the day'.

(quoted from post at 08:15:17 06/12/12) OK I have a Model M , I just purchased and I am changing all the oils . The book calls for 10w motor oil on the Touch O Matic system . When I drained the TOM system I got what looks like ATF it was a red color. would that be the JD hydraulic oil from the dealer? or did the PO use ATF? I cannot find 10 or 20 wt non-detergent oil . I can find 30wt N.D., can I use that ? I have no leaks and the system seems to work good, Thanks for you responses.

steve

I use 30w non-detergent in my 420, 430 and 435 with good results.

Thanks guys for all the advise, it was very helpful. As or as going to Tractor Supply the nearest one from where I live is over 300 miles, I like the Idea of using 30 wt non detergent , I can get that. and it don't get any colder than 25 where I live . I don't use the JD for plowing snow. Any opinions on the red ATF that was in the system? if that is what it was.