New to me 2N

NMMark

New User
I am new to this tractor stuff so bare with me please. I am a retired disabled vet and was given a 47 2n that's been sitting for about a year. The engine does turn over, but before starting it I plan on draining, flushing and refilling all fluids. It has been converted to 12V. It also has an Everett Trencher aux tranny in it too. Is there anything else I should look at before getting it ready to start. Thanks for all you guys and gals to for us rookies.

If you like to tinker I'm sure you're going to love it. I love the simplicity of my N - if it needs anything 1. it's available and 2. it's typically easy to fix or replace. The flathead has fewer gaskets to leak than a more modern unit, the hydraulics are fairly idiot proof (I'm a testament to that), and there's nothing too big on it that you can't do with hand tools and a floor jack.

oh yeah, #3. there are tons of us out there who are happy to try and help.

NMMark,

From one vet on disability to another, THANK YOU for your service! And welcome to the best forum ever!

I have an 8N, so I can't help much. But there are a bunch of guys & gals on this forum that will steer you in the right direction. Let them help you!!

Gunny, in Iowa

To another D.A.V. I salute you. That said I would put say a 1/4 cup of ATF in each cylinder before trying to start it to free up sticking rings etc. U.S.Navy 1974-180

Let me echo the other folks' welcome and thanks for your service.
You'll find many of us here are veterans.

I would remove the plugs and add some ATF or MMO to the
cylinders to soak the rings for a few days before trying to start it.
That will help free them up and lube the cylinder walls a bit.
Roll it over with the plugs out to blow that oil out before trying
to start it. Messy, but it does help.

While it is soaking I would take the distributor off (2 bolts, 1 wire)
and clean/gap the points. 15 thousandths on the front mount.