OT Suggestions for metal barn roof.

sbin

I would like some get some advice,suggestions and or experiences with metal roofing for an out building.What would you use and why?
Gathering materials now for barn/shop to store our tractor,backhoe and assorted tools
Will be doing the work building it ourselves roughly 24'x32' 8/12 pitch with a 14' shed off one side.
We salvaged about 200-2x12x16 and 80-3/4" plywood from an old warehouse demo.
I have plenty of experience with shingles but would like to try metal.Since the project budget has been helped greatly by free materials spending extra on the roof shouldn't be a big problem.

Hello,I would inquire imfo. from some major shed builders Morton,Quanset,etc. on what they use and what they use to hold it down with enjoy your day sir!

I'm far from being an expert, but I have built a few sheds. I always put 2x4 lath boards across the truss and screw my metal to them. I know several people who have put metal roofs on their house. They roll out tarpaper and screw 1x4 boards across their roof over the tarpaper and screw the metal roofing to the 1x4.

I havn't used anything but steel roofing for 20 years now - wouldn't ever consider going back to anything else - not around here.

Snow will shed off of steel easy - especially when the sun hits it. 6/12 pitch though is about the max that you can walk on (when dry wearing sneakers). In areas where there are entranceways under eaves, you might want some "snow stops" on the roof to keep avanlances off of people's heads.

You want to use a good vapor barrier - especially with a purlin-roof with no plywood underneath. With sheaved roofs (5/8" equiv. plywood) and steel over it, condensation is not as bad of a problem. Last one I did, in the Adirondack Mountains with 40F below temps in the winter, and 90F plus temps in the summer, the combo of 5/8" plywood, Ice-shield vapor barrier, and steel has worked great.