Piston Rings in 1950's

Moonlite37

From 1953 Until 1960 I worked in a factory and workers would say, Saturday I am going to put a set of rings in my old Chevy They could buy the rings for about $12 and about $5at Western Auto for a set of gaskets for an in frame repair and they would be prepared for a couple years. Those days are past and never hear of piston rings being replaced. These fellows never removed any cylinder ridge and in most engines just removed a thin ring and main shim or placed paper between insert and connecting rod.I assume they are built better now because many good engine can go for 200 thousand with no engine work. We had a 235 Chevy engine that had rings replaced at a local shop for between $55 and $60 with 55,000 miles.There was a legend that a local truck went 120.000 with no repair, but seemed unbelievable.

The rings were often just cast iron with little or no special coatings. oil rings were one piece with slots for oil to go through. If the rings woe out before the bore, the ridge was probably not radical enough to cause problems. Though ridge reamers were commonly used. End gaps were abundant and normal oil consumption was quite high. The oil was also not very capable of dealing with sludge, particles, cleaning, viscosity stability, and heat. Piston expansion control and roundness when at operating temp were marginal. Jim

In the mid 60's a neighbor was always doing engine work under a shad tree. He would let me clean the piston ring groves. I thought he was god. I got to do plenty of ring/valve jobs I would say by the late 70's it all went away and became full blown rebuilds. Think about this you could not get away ringing a 100K engine anymore like you could a 50K engine. On a 100K engine the rod is worn out as other parts they would come back to haunt ya. You could ring a 50K engine to get it to 100K but lost your arse ringing a 100K engine to get it to 200K.