Question about head gasket replacement on a MF 135 with Perkins 3cly gas.

MacCabin375

New User
I have a 1970 MF 135 with a 3cyl gas Perkins motor that we use on a hay rake and some orchard work. I am replacing the head gasket and the shop manual says to "coat both sides of the head gasket with a non hardening sealant" I am no mechanic by any means but I have replaced a few head gaskets, and I have never seen a manual call for adding sealant to a head gasket. What would be a good sealant to use. I assume RTV for high heat parts. What do you all use? Thank You!

I will X3 on copper coat, I have seen a few call for sealant, did a yanmar in a JD 850 a few years ago and it had very specific instruction to use part number blah blah (turned out to be Ultra Grey silicone), it even had a diagram where to place your bead and gave a width and height for the bead.

I have a 1970 MF 135 with a 3cyl gas Perkins motor that we use on a hay rake and some orchard work. I am replacing the head gasket and the shop manual says to "coat both sides of the head gasket with a non hardening sealant" I am no mechanic by any means but I have replaced a few head gaskets, and I have never seen a manual call for adding sealant to a head gasket. What would be a good sealant to use. I assume RTV for high heat parts. What do you all use? Thank You!
As said, Coppercoat. it comes in spray on, and brush on. The spray is better for head gaskets. hang it on a wire where overspray is OK. Just before assembling the head to block, spray a single coat on both sides (full, coverage but not running off) let it dry 80% then recoat and dry to 50% tacky. assemble. then torque in stages. warm up then retorque and adjust valves. Jim