Running Rough and I'm out of Ideas

Folks, got a puzzle I need your help with.

Background:
I own a 62 JD 1010 that used to belong to my Granddad. It's stored at my parents house about 12 hours from me and I only get up to work on it once a year at Christmas. I've been battling a rough running condition for the past two years and I'm out of ideas.

The tractor has had the engine replaced with the HA145G engine out of a combine after the original engine went out. Because the original carburetor was clogged up, I slapped in a Chinese TSX428 off eBay, which got it running but began the issue I'm having now. I've since rebuilt the original carburetor thinking that would fix the issue, but I bolted it on yesterday and Dad gum it the tractor still runs just as poorly

Symptoms:
Can't start without choke
Black smoke at startup, when revving up, and when slowing down
Constantly missing and stumbling
Backfires and dies if revved up too quickly
Plugs will foul up within a few MINUTES of running
Poor power

Things I've tried (over the past three years):
All sorts of different combinations of idle and load adjustment, to no avail
Replaced coil, condenser, points, cap, rotor, plugs (NGK), plug wires
Adjusted gap on new points
Rewired entire tractor
Replaced Chinese carburetor with original, rebuilt TSX-809
Replaced fuel lines and added inline filter
Adjusted timing with timing light
Adjusted valve clearance
Sprayed around manifold to check for air intrusion (none noted)
Adjusted linkage per service manual
Replaced condenser again
Replaced intake manifold and gaskets (old manifold had a crack on the exhaust)
Checked manifold for leaks again
Replaced condenser a third time (it's gotta be good right?)
Cleaned spark plugs every 10 minutes of troubleshooting to get rid of the crud on them
Borescoped engine to look for internal damage, nothing found