Shop Air Line

I know the danger of PVC and Pressurized Air. What about PEX? It stretches when it freezes. Will it Shatter like PVC if it ruptures?

I believe not sunlight resistance has been mentioned in the past. Ultraviolet degradation. You might want to check that out and if OSHA and or insurance approves such use.

You can buy 5/8 Nylon tubing off amazon for about $1 a foot in 100 foot rolls.(1/2 inch for 60 cents a foot)
Its rated for air; you can get fittings that will not leak when used for air; it can go out in the sun without problems; Its DOT and OSHA approved to use in an air system; do I need to go on.....
Just look for semi truck air line.

I don't have an issue with PVC, I've been using it for 50 years and have seen it improperly installed and broken under pressure but there was no shrapnel to it. It's the people that put 175 psi or more on it that create that situation. At 100-120 psi it just makes noise when it's broken. The ends where you put the coupler if you use steel fittings and secure it well to the building you won't even break it. Whats in my shop has been in use since the mid 1980's.

I ran schedule 40 in the attic and dropped down black pipe into the shop. Easy and inexpensive. Just my two cents

Stephen glad to see you speak up. We have two large shops that are over 30 years old plumed with grey pvc. I thought they called it schedule 80 but anyway heavy pvc. Ever where we put an outlet we used a T and went on down with a common radiator petcock for draining. I have never had any ruptures running 110 /150 lb cutoffs.

Regular plumbing PEX is not officially approved for air, but it is being used without issue.

Two things it does not like, heat, as in close to a compressor where the air could still be hot, and direct sun light supposedly degrades it.