slopes and side hill in a HG-42....limits are ???

choppa

I will be binging my Oliver HG-42 to our cabin in the hilly section of south eastern OK....very soon after I get all I want done to her here in Texas at my home shop.

when up there this week, I got to thinking how useful the machine would be to drag out of these ravines all the downed timber I want to move out and cut up for firewood.

the land at the cabin is rocky and steep in sections I wish to use this on. not anything over 35-40 degrees for sure ANYWHERE.

my questions to you guys who really use your machines for work: What degree of slope would you feel comfortable running a HG-42 on?

I know this may be hard to answer, not knowing the exact landscape I am refering to.. I can easily walk the slopes I am talking about..rocks can be loose. steel tracks on rock surface? slippage?

I have off roaded for years in jeeps, so i know a wheeled vehicles limitations on side hills. A crawler is something I have no real experience working with. My guess is that the crawler has a much lower center of gravity to allow hill work.

If I approached a hill straight on, no side slope, what degree of angle would you all say would be a safe angle? At about what kind of angles would I expect to climb without fear of a turn over backwards?.what about opertaing on a side slope? Are they stable enough for a good degree of side slope or no?

in most cases, I would drag logs upward in a straight path avoiding as much side slope as possible. I am sure it must feel pretty weird in that small seat with the engine up and higher than the operator!!

anyone got a good picture of themselves on their machines running a good hill, either up /down or on a side slope?

Did Oliver ever publish these limitations in any user manuals?

any advice surely appreciated.. pictures of working one even better!