Super Major Oils

tcfcowboy

New User
Hello, I'm new here. I am currently working at restoring my first tractor, a 1962 Fordson Super Major, I have a question about oils. 1. What oil for the engine, I was told 20w-50 definitely not 15w-40 can someone point me towards a specific brand? 2. What oil for the transmission, someone told me 20w-50 for that as well, but I also heard 90wt gear oil as well so not sure which to use there. 3. For the rear end and hydraulic system I was told New Holland 134d hydraulic oil, is that correct or should it be something else, I'm new to most of this and dont want to mess anything up. Thanks in advance

I suggest you purchases ( old stock or reprint ) an operating manual . It I has way more in it that will give you years of good service.
Advice on trans and differential , if they have bronze components you will need a GL 1 minerals oil As recommended in manuals
source for manual =YT , eBay ,jensalles sp.

I'd stay away from the 20W-50. A 15W-40 diesel-rated oil such as Shell Rotella would probably be a good choice for the engine. If you expect to run in sub-zero temperatures, you might consider even a thinner oil such as a 5W-40 diesel oil.

I'm going to defer to others about the transmission, hydraulics and differential. User 'majorman' has forgotten more about these tractors than the rest of us ever knew. He hangs out on the Tractor & Farm Talk and Fordson forums; a post at either of those will probably get you a response from him.

It would appear 10w-30 from the chart goes a long way up into the 96 degree mark. I think that would be a 5000 ford early one 4 cylinder. We use 10w30 in the 3000. I don't think you are going to go wrong here with 15w-40 either but 20w-50 in this country isn't real popular I don't think. About the only thing I can think of that uses 50w is Rear axles on some OTR trucks. I believe Eaton Transmissions take a synthetic 50w. Not something I pour in anything regularly for sure and expensive.