Timing using vacuum

pomester

I've seen a couple of references to using a vacuum gauge to set engine timing. I've got a TO35 with the small timing hole hiding behind the tie rods and radius rods which makes being able to illuminate and observe with a timing light difficult. If I could use a vacuum gauge at the 1/8"npt plug at the manifold it would be much easier.

I've heard maximizing vacuum is the strategy. At idle? At PTO speed?

Any experience or tips?

Thanks
David

I have no experience with that. What would timing have to do with how much vacuum is present at the manifold? I do agree with you on the difficulty of trying to see into that silly timing hole with a timing light.
I just timed my TO-20 by ear. Got it running, and then advanced the distributor until the engine didn't like it. It will become obvious. The backed it off a little and locked it down. It runs well, starts easy and doesn't kick the starter.

I have no experience with that. What would timing have to do with how much vacuum is present at the manifold? I do agree with you on the difficulty of trying to see into that silly timing hole with a timing light.
I just timed my TO-20 by ear. Got it running, and then advanced the distributor until the engine didn't like it. It will become obvious. The backed it off a little and locked it down. It runs well, starts easy and doesn't kick the starter.
That's about where I have it now. It's a brand new engine and I'd like to fine tune it. There's marks on the front engine cover and I put a notch in the front pulley while I could see #1 piston, but again the angles and sight lines make it practically impossible to time with any accuracy.

The comments I've seen indicate that highest(lowest) vacuum corresponds to best engine efficiency. Dunno. I haven't searched the web, thought I'd start here.

Try it and see. It could be explained out but I'm sure trying it would be very clear.