TO30 Rear Axle Shims

ScottsTO30

New User
Hi all.

Newbie here who has enjoyed reading through numerous topics on the forums, and finally have purchased my own TO30 (1952 I believe).

When I got it, the seller told me the brakes were not working (!), and after getting it home and opening up the drums I found the rear axle seals were also leaking. I thought I should deal with that first!

As I took out the axles and removed the brake drum rear plates, I noted on one side the metal shims were between the axle hub and backing plate like i expected, but on the other side I found 2 shims in that position, and two destroyed shims (pieces only!) between the rear of the backing plate and the axle trumpet. Can shims be installed in this way? Or should they all be inside the brake drum backing plate?

I also found no paper gaskets (or remains of)? Where are they located/installed?

Thank you for taking the time to read my first question (of many I am sure!), and I would appreciate any advice.

Scott.

The shims are supposed to be between the back plate and the axle trumpet housing.

The gasket goes between the axle retainer and the back plate. If you don't have gaskets, silicone will work.

To adjust the preload, remove some shims, snug the retainer bolts, hand turn the axle (trans in neutral). Watch the other axle. If it turns the same direction, it is too tight, add a shim and repeat. Keep adding one shim at a time until the other axle turn the opposite direction.

You do understand, the bearings get packed with grease, no differential oil should ever get to the bearings. The inner seal stops any oil that may ever get up that high.

Have you checked the oil level in the differential/intermediate/transmission cases?

Those are prone to collect water, the water raises the level, often resulting in oil in the brakes and clutch.

Thanks for your response Steve. I appreciate the advice.