Truck Transmission Rebuild-Bearing Fit

Peabo

Greetings, I have a Spicer 5 speed from an IH single axle truck with aluminum case that lost the input shaft gear and countershaft gear (all started with bad tooth). Tearing everything down I noticed that the main shaft and countershaft bearings and races just fit snug in the case, not a press fit. No evidence that the bearings spun in the case. It seems that the pre-load from the shaft end caps keeps everything snug but I could still pull them all out by hand. Is this normal? I'm not that experienced when it comes to transmissions. If it is normal should I use locktite bearing retainer when I go back together with it? Thanks!!

In general with machines the race that rotates is the one that needs to have a little interference fit. Think of a trailer wheel bearing, the outer race rotates, so it's a tight fit, the inner race does not, it just slides onto the spindle. In your case if I understand correctly the outer race does not rotate, so it doesn't need to be an interference fit. If it was me and the race seemed too loose, I would put a little loctite on it, you should never have to take it apart again anyhow. Good luck!

(quoted from post at 06:51:17 09/27/21) Greetings, I have a Spicer 5 speed from an IH single axle truck with aluminum case that lost the input shaft gear and countershaft gear (all started with bad tooth). Tearing everything down I noticed that the main shaft and countershaft bearings and races just fit snug in the case, not a press fit. No evidence that the bearings spun in the case. It seems that the pre-load from the shaft end caps keeps everything snug but I could still pull them all out by hand. Is this normal? I'm not that experienced when it comes to transmissions. If it is normal should I use locktite bearing retainer when I go back together with it? Thanks!!

"It seems that the pre-load from the shaft end caps keeps everything snug"