What size tiller for YM155D?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I am a newb to "real" tractors and am looking for a tiller for my just aquired YM155D (1300D equivalent) with loader - tractor rated at 15hp and weighs about 1150 lbs. I was ready to pull the trigger on a King Kutter 48" (TG-48) Professional but was advised to pick something smaller (36" - 41") by the dealer. I will be using it initially to start a large garden in hard soil (clayey silt with some small rocks <2") but thereafter I will till the soil yearly and will be adding compost. So it will not be used frequently to break a lot of new ground.

Is the 48" "really" too much tiller for this tractor or do you just need to take it slow. I really did not want any smaller than a 48" tiller, but don't want to give the machine more than it can handle and be kicking myself later. Thoughts/brand recommendations?

Thanks! - Greg

Matching implements to tractors isn't a perfect science because applications change, and if it's on the big side just go slower and shallower. For your situation I'd get the 48 and remove the outer tines the first go. The more you till the same patch the easier it gets, so after a few seasons your 155 may be able to handle the full width. Or some day you may trade to a bigger tractor.

A major variable is the lifting capacity of the hitch, because tillers are somewhat heavy, they usually get carried a bit far back, and you don't want to drag it. So make sure yours will lift that much weight. You can get a factory tractor manual for the 155 with the specs.

Besides the PTO being able to turn it, the other factor is traction. One variable is whether the tiller is forward or backward rotating (forward is less of a traction challenge). Another argument for foward is that it chucks rocks aft instead of ahead into the path to be hit again.