1950 John Deere A carb issues

JasonFedewa

New User
Having some carb (DLTX 71) issues with my 1950 A. When I crank the motor I get gas coming out of the bottom of the throttle shaft. Carb doesn't leak otherwise. No white smoke from muffler & doesn't fire. I do have spark. I've cleaned all the secret passage ways, adjusted the float so it is 1/2 inch from the top, tested the float and it doesn't leak. Also tested the needle and seat. They tested good but I tried with another spare needle and seat with no change. I've heard that the baffle vents can cause odd issues but they don't seem to be clogged when I spray carb cleaner through them. What else is odd is that the plugs never get wet. The gas must be going into the crank case. I plan to change the oil but want to figure this out first. Was running before I replaced the throttle shaft, bushings and cleaned the passage ways due to poor running. Really at a loss but I am no expert.

Check that air filter is not restricted by disconnecting air pipe from front of carburetor and block it away from carburetor. This will also determine if carburetor is flooding or not as gas will run out of carburetor if it is. If carburetor does not appear to be flooding at carburetor, drain crankcase and check that it is not overfull with diluted oil and fuel?? as if it is it can flood from the back side of cylinders if overfull. DW

Yes you can remove it there is most likely a rubber coupler that you will have to loosen to get it off but there should be enough play with it disconnected at the carb to just move it out of the way. Tom in Mn.

I did soak the carb pretty good but didn't remove the nozzle. Guessing I should probably do that. Can it be removed, cleaned and reinstalled or should I plan on buying a new one?

There is a utube video produced by Steiner Tractor that shows you how to rebuild a carb. Maybe you should look at that or have it professionally rebuilt. Tom in Mn.