2400A Loader/Backhoe rear tires

Weldrdave

New User
Hello everyone, I'm a new guy and have been reading and learning a lot here. I'm new to tractors in general but not new to a diesel engine. I'm retired military and purchased some land in the great state of New Hampshire and plan on using this machine to assist in light clearing and trenching for my septic.
I recently purchased a 1974, 2400A and want to learn more about it. I got a great deal, "I" think, the machine has 4426 hours on it, everything works and runs as should.
Here is where my question comes in; It is in need of rear tires and the rears on it now are 14.9-28 The previous owner has a manual and I'm reading everything that says 14.9-24. I did find one spot in the book that mentions 14.9-28 but these tires seem very very close to the backhoe outriggers, maybe an 2 inch of clearance on worn tires now. Is it me and just assume this is not correct? I'm planning on putting new tires on shortly. Anyone see any issues? Thank you in advance. Dave
mvphoto28591.jpg

mvphoto28592.jpg

mvphoto28593.jpg

A 2400A is essentially an IH454 tractor with better hydraulics, a beefier front axle, and yellow paint. Any of 14.9-24, 16.9-24, 13.6-28 or 14.9-28 could come stock. Some even came with dual rears.